Gluten-Free Food Guide

By SkinnyMs.

Gluten-Free-Food-Guide_Final

 

Gluten is a protein that naturally occurs in wheat, barley, and rye. It’s present in so many of our foods, from bread to muffins to cookies and even pizza dough. But many people choose to remove gluten from their diets. People with Celiac disease suffer from an autoimmune disorder that causes the body to attack its own cells when gluten is present. These people must stay away from gluten at all costs. Other people are less tolerant to gluten than others, and experience bloating, digestive issues, and fatigue when they eat gluten-rich foods, so they choose to eliminate those foods from their diets. And still more people, while not afflicted by gluten, find that their diet looks healthier and they have better luck with weight loss when they choose gluten-free foods.

Going gluten-free? It may seem daunting at first, when you think about all of the food items that contain gluten and are, therefore, off-limits. But when you adjust your focus a bit and think of the rich variety of foods that you can eat that are gluten-free, you may open up a door to healthy eating that you didn’t realize was there!

Our chart provides a handy guide to gluten-free foods, allowing you to peruse your grocery store aisles efficiently, making choices that are gluten-free, delicious, and great for you! From protein-rich meat, poultry, legumes, and seeds, to literally any veggie or fruit, your options are wide, indeed! And you don’t have to stay away from all grain-like foods. Quinoa is a great substitute for grains that is protein- and nutrient-rich, and gluten-free. Your next shopping trip will end with a cart full of healthy, scrumptious gluten-free options!

Make sure that you subscribe to our newsletter, so that you don’t miss out on anything SkinnyMs.

For more tasty recipes, healthy lifestyle tips, and whole body workouts, check out our Facebook page and follow us on Pinterest.

We’d love to hear what you think of this post, or what you’d like to see on our site. Leave us a comment in the comments section below.

6 Comments on "Gluten-Free Food Guide"

  1. Carolyn  March 6, 2017

    Face book down. Can receipts be sent to e-mail

    Reply
    • Gale Compton  March 7, 2017

      Carolyn, We are adding an email and text button above each recipe and post. Should be visible today or tomorrow. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Betty  July 15, 2017

    you show rice as being gluten free I was on the understanding that it contained gluten

    Reply
    • Emilia Horn  July 15, 2017

      Betty, rice is a grain, but it does not contain gluten

      Reply
  3. Tina  August 25, 2017

    Is oatmeal gluten free?

    Reply
    • Gale Compton  August 26, 2017

      Tina, Yes, but it can contain gluten if processed in a facility that uses gluten for other products. To make sure it should state, Gluten-Free.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.