The Differences Between Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Paleo Diets

Start your clean eating journey with the right knowledge!

Nowadays, there are all sorts of new terms being thrown around with regards to clean eating and special diets. It’s really important to stay informed and understand what each new diet includes and what it does to your body before you dive in. The three popular diets right now are gluten-free, vegan, and paleo diets. Do you know what each of these entails? Well, if not, you have come to the right place to find out.

1. Paleo

Paleo, also known as the “caveman diet,” is exactly how it sounds. It takes a very primitive approach to food, cutting out any types of food that the human body was not meant to handle. It is a healthy approach to eating that allows you to store more energy, cut out more fat, and build more strength. It focuses on incorporating lean proteins, fruits and veggies, and healthy fats. This allows your body to intake more vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. On this diet, you can eat: grass-produced meats, fish/seafood, eggs, nuts and seeds, veggies, and healthy oils. So, here are our top 25 Best Paleo Recipe recommendations.

2. Vegan 

Vegan diets take vegetarian eating to the extreme. Most recommend becoming vegetarian first before making the switch to veganism, since the change can be drastic. A vegan diet removes all animal products and by-products, even if they do not contain animal meat. This includes dairy products, any meat broths, refried beans, and many other foods. However, this opens up options for tons of foods that you might not have been aware of. Vegan diets incorporate assorted legumes, different types of oils, various types of non-dairy milks, and many soy-based ingredients like tofu and tempeh. If you are just making the switch, here are 15 Surprising Vegan Recipes that you wouldn’t have even recognized as vegan!

3. Gluten-free

Gluten-free diets are typically adopted by people who have gluten allergies or other conditions. However, gluten-free diets can be beneficial to a person without health conditions as well. Foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet are any sort of wheat products especially bread, cakes, cereal, crackers, pasta, pizza, and so much more. Someone with gluten allergies or Celiac’s Disease may be sensitive to foods that have merely touched gluten products, so it’s important to be careful. Good alternatives to gluten products are corn products and certain grains that do not contain gluten, such as quinoa and brown rice. Gluten-free eating can reduce your risk of heart disease and other heart conditions, but as anything, be weary of the risks. Read ingredient labels and be mindful of portion sizes. Meanwhile, here are some Delicious Gluten-Free Recipes to get you started!


We hope after reading this article you are much more knowledgeable about these terms and how these diets affect you. Let us know if you have any questions in the comments down below!

For more information, like us on Facebook, follow us on Pinterest, and subscribe to our newsletter.


This post may include affiliate links.

Create a FREE account for quick & easy access


The SkinnyMs. team believes that all people, regardless of age, size, and fitness level, have the power to transform their lives — they just need the resources to do so. The SkinnyMs. method promotes healthy living through a combination of clean eating and regular exercise. We offer everything you need to be successful.

More by Skinny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *